Ninety Night Blog Challenge


I am inspired by Kiki to commit to blogging every night for ninety nights. I don’t expect to write nearly as well as she does, but I’m hoping that the discipline it takes will spill over into others parts of my life as it did hers. It was such a joy to read her blog through the ninety days that I encourage you to go there and do so yourself.

So here’s the deal: every night after the kids are in bed and before I go to sleep I will write something. Who knows what it will be about, but it will be posted every night for my challenge. I’m not very good at these kinds of challenges, for example my forlorn triathalon training attempt, so please wish me luck and comment when you can – it will make me better.

Tonight is a particularly apt night for me to start. It is the six month anniversary of being laid off. So from the economist’s point of view I now fall in a different category of the unemployed. I’m no longer counted in the statistics that are frequently stated for public consumption. Here, look:

What is U6 unemployment rate ?
The U6 unemployment rate counts not only people without work seeking full-time employment (the more familiar U-3 rate), but also counts “marginally attached workers and those working part-time for economic reasons.” Note that some of these part-time workers counted as employed by U-3 could be working as little as an hour a week. And the “marginally attached workers” include those who have gotten discouraged and stopped looking, but still want to work. The age considered for this calculation is 16 years and over

I am neither marginally attached, nor discouraged, nor have I stopped looking. And I do still want to work – full time – with an office and everything!

I’m hoping that the next ninety days will see that come true. If so, it will be good material for this challenge.

So stick around, this might get interesting.

(Theme Music)

One Comment to “Ninety Night Blog Challenge”

  1. Thank you so much for introducing my blog! I’m a few nights late, but your kicking off this challenge is phenomenal, and I wish you the very very best.

    You wrote, “I’m hoping that the next ninety days will see that come true. If so, it will be good material for this challenge.”

    So much can come true, honestly, it’s quite mind-boggling. And miraculous. Here’s to a beginning of wonder-full material that will suddenly begin to appear in your life!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

